White Chocolate Coconut Blondies (Dairy Free)

on

A chewy brown sugar blondie is elevated by sweet, creamy white chocolate and a hefty dose of toasted coconut. This springy and easy-to-make dessert is perfect for an Easter brunch, birthday, or just a Monday!

White Chocolate Coconut Blondies

Coconut – love it or hate it?

I’ve always been firmly planted in team LOVE, mostly due to my family of coconut lovers. From a young age, I’ve had coconut forced on me from all directions – Coconut Angel Food Cake at my grandmother’s birthday parties, German Chocolate Cake at family functions, all the Samoas you could ever dream of when Girl Scout Cookie season rolled around, Pina Coladas at beach week… you name it, I had it shoved in my face from all directions.

Well, maybe not the Pina Coladas. Don’t have to shove that in my face – I’m grabbing eagerly! Give me all the rum!

However, I am aware that not everyone is as coconut-inclined as I am. My old roommates, in addition to not being cheesecake fans (quelle horreur!), were also not too thrilled in the face of coconut.

That all changed with these blondies.

Yesterday was my mom’s birthday, and I knew that bringing her something sweet and coconutty would win me some MAJOR brownie points in her book. Well, these and the Rodan + Fields Lash Boost I got for her – momma loves her some long lashes! So, this past Saturday I whipped up this batch of blondies and hustled over to Vienna to share them with her. She was, of course, thrilled – because they’re delicious – but also terified, because she is an empty nester and didn’t want the blondies to stare her in the face every time she headed to the kitchen. So, being the incredibly sweet daughter that I am, I offered to take half off her hands – and directly into the pregame I was attending later that evening.

The Jess Peterson Guide to Making Friends in full force, ladies and gentlemen.

Suddenly, a room full of formerly anti-coconut friends were transformed into hungry beasts, ripping at the blondies between swigs of beer and sips of vodka sodas. They called them ‘Freaking Insane,’ which coincidentally is how most guys I date describe me once we break up.

ANYWAY.

If you know someone who says they hate coconut? Make these blondies and prove them wrong. If you love coconut? Make these and change your life. Can’t bake? Come over and eat some of the second batch I made, because let’s be real – you always need more blondies!

White Chocolate Coconut Blondies

Blondies2

To make these blondies, you will need:
– 1 1/8 cup white whole wheat flour (or unbleached all-purpose)
– 1 t baking powder
– Pinch salt
– 1/3 cup unsalted vegan butter, softened
– 3/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
– 1 egg
– 1 t vanilla extract
– 1 1/2 cups sweetened flaked coconut
– 1 cup white chocolate chips (dairy free)

Blondies3

First, preheat your oven to 350F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Spread your coconut onto the parchment paper and bake until toasted, stirring occasionally, about 7-10 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool.

In a small bowl whisk together your flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.

Blondies4

In a medium bowl, cream together your butter and brown sugar until light and fluffy. Add your egg and vanilla extract and beat until well-combined. Stir in flour mixture just until combined. Stir in 1/2 cup each of toasted coconut and white chocolate chips.

Blondies1

Spray an 8×8″ square pan with cooking spray, then press dough into the pan. Bake for 20-25 minutes, until the edges are golden brown, then spread the remaining coconut and white chocolate chips on top of the blondies and return to oven for 5 minutes. Remove from oven, let cool, and serve!

That’s it – so quick, so easy, and SO delicious! You’ve got a week before Easter – get these on your table. Or, come join my friends and I for boozy Easter brunch! You really can’t go wrong 🙂

XOXO,
Jess

One Comment Add yours

  1. theurbenlife says:

    WOW! That toasted coconut looks so yummy. I’m definitely going to have to try this soon 🙂 Thank you! Just pinned for later!

    Like

Leave a Reply

