Maple Snickerdoodle Cookies

A soft and chewy spiced brown sugar cookie base is punched up with a kick of real maple syrup, which adds sweetness and flavor. A coating of cinnamon sugar ties the cookie together for this delicious twist on the classic snickerdoodle.

sweet-potato-pea-curry

As a girl born and raised in the U-S-of-A, I feel like I have spent my whole life being unfair  to Canada. Belittling it as “America’s Hat,” as “Our Neighbor to the North,” as “I mean it’s just Canada lol.”

Shame on me.

canadian-money

Canada is a wonderful place, that has given us so much greatness! For example:
– DRAKE
– Justin Bieber, who taught all the boys in my life how to be fuckboys
– Basketball!
– Justin Trudeau, the hottest leader of all time
– Poutine aka the delicious art of putting cheese and gravy on french fries
– Avril Lavigne

^^^Where would we be without Canada?!

Justin Trudeau
Hubba hubba

And, we mustn’t forget what they are perhaps best known for – maple syrup.

I have now been to Canada twice, and I am ashamed to admit that while I have indulged in multiple mountains of poutine (RIP bikini body), I have yet to actually have maple syrup in this great country – surely a crime punishable by death.

syrup

The issue is that syrup is typically eaten at breakfast time, and when I’m traveling for work ‘breakfast’ usually means ‘crying over a dry muffin in the hotel’s concierge lounge,’ so I haven’t had many opportunities to do so. However, in light of America’s current political climate, I’m packing my bags, brushing up on my Français, and getting ready to beg Justin Trudeau to a) let me into his country and b) set me up with an equally attractive family member and/or Drake. Now, is that too much to ask?!

Not if I bring these snickerdoodles! We’ve taken your childhood favorite cookie and jazzed it up with a hit of the good stuff (maple syrup… get your mind out of the gutter). These will be a hit at your next party or the next time you’re crying and stress-eating by yourself!

Maple Snickerdoodle Cookies

img_2040

To make these cookies, you will need:
– 2 1/4 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
– 2 t baking soda
– 1 t cream of tartar
– 1 t cinnamon
– Pinch salt
– 3/4 cup (1.5 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
– 1/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
– 3/4 cup granulated sugar
– 1/4 cup REAL maple syrup (none of this Aunt Jemima shenanigan)
– 1 egg
– 1 t vanilla extract
For Rolling:
– 2 T granulated sugar
– 1 t cinnamon

img_2034

To begin, combine your flour, baking soda, cinnamon, cream of tartar, and a pinch of salt in a small bowl. Set aside.

img_2033

Next, use a hand mixer or a wooden spoon and your arm strength to cream together the butter, granulated sugar, and brown sugar until well-mixed and fluffy. Beat in the maple syrup, then add the egg and vanilla extract and mix well.

Gently fold the dry mixture into the wet, just until no streaks of flour remain.The dough will be quite sticky, so pop it into the fridge for 1-2 hours, or the freezer for 30 minutes. I put mine in the freezer, cuz ain’t nobody got time to wait for cookies!

img_2031

When your cookies are almost done chilling, preheat your oven to 375F and combine your granulated sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper or Silpat, then shape your dough into smallish (2-teaspoon-sized) balls and roll them in the cinnamon-sugar mixture. Arrange about 2 inches away from each other on your baking sheets.

img_2036

Bake for 9-11 minutes, until puffy on top and golden around the edges. Allow to cool for 2 minutes on the baking sheet, then remove to a cooling rack to finish cooling for 10-15 minutes. Then, dig in! These bad boys sure are good, eh?

Now if you need me, I’ll be watching documentaries on the proper precautions to take in case of a moose attack.

Thank you, Tinder.

XOXO,
Jess

One Comment Add yours

  1. Sahra says:

    Your writing is hilarious! And these cookies sound like they’d be perrrrfect for my fiancé! Maybe a Presidents’ Day of baking is in my future!

    XO Sahra

    Like

Leave a Reply

