Coconut Cream Pie Chia Pudding (Vegan + GF)

Breakfast is touted as the most important meal of the day, so when you can make it delicious and healthy, you’ve hit the jackpot! This chia pudding comes together in two minutes, and is best when made the night before, so you can roll straight out of bed and into this heavenly combination of coconut milk, sweetened coconut, and Omega 3-packed chia seeds.

coconut-cream-pie-chia-pudding

Mornings can be hard, guys. If any of you try to fight me on that, I’ll throw my coffee at you.

(Just kidding, I’d obviously never do that. Coffee is far too precious to be wasted on a hater)

coffee

When I was working my last job, I would wake up every morning at 5:30 AM, hate my life for 2 minutes as I slipped into gym clothes, mix up some preworkout (aka crack), and chug that caffeine-and-BCAA mixture until a surge of energy coursed through my veins and my entire body itched so badly that I was sure I would die if I didn’t work out RIGHTAWAY.

^^^itching like your body is being attacked by mosquitoes is probably not super healthy; I’ve not taken preworkout in several months and I think that’s a very good thing.

preworkout

These days, my morning routine is a bit more relaxed. I wake up when I want to, head downstairs to sip a cup two cups three cups of coffee while I read the newspaper and dive into the breakfast du jour. However, even with this extra time on my hands, most mornings I’m too hangry to put much thought into making my breakfast. As such, make-ahead breakfasts like this one can save me from just digging into the (protein-free) cereal box!

Plus, you get all these glorious health benefits of chia seeds:
– Rich in antioxidants to improve skin and reverse damage caused by free radicals
– Omega 3 fats raise your HDL (good) cholesterol and prevent heart disease
– Rich in fiber to keep you full longer and improve your digestive health
– High in calcium for strong bones
– One of the top plant-based sources of protein by volume to help build muscle and aid in weight loss

^^ All this before 9 AM! What are you waiting for?!

Coconut Cream Pie Chia Pudding

img_1795

To make one serving of this chia pudding, you will need:
– 1/2 cup light coconut milk
– 2 T sweetened shredded coconut
– 1 T chia seeds
– 1 t agave nectar (or honey, if not vegan)
– 1/2 t vanilla extract

OK GUYS. There is one direction here, and it is – mix! That’s right, combine everything in a bowl and let it sit for 4 hours (or overnight) so the seeds can plump up, then devour!

img_1794

Mornings just got a whole lot better 🙂

XOXO,
Jess

Leave a Reply

