Spicy Chickpea Coconut Curry (V + GF)

Fresh jalapeno peppers and a medley of spices lend a kick to this chickpea curry, and cooling coconut milk balances the spice. Top with fresh cilantro for a delicious lunch or dinner!

curry11

I have a lot of regrets in my life.

For example, that time I was offered a job as a cage dancer at Spanish Galleon, the finest dance club in North Myrtle Beach (and favored destination of every UVA student at beach week), and turned it down? Mistake.

Or, when I wrote my crush a letter (yes, an actual, physical, signed-stamped-and-delivered LETTER) inviting him to my 5th grade chorus recital, when a sane person would have just asked him in person? Mistake.

Or, most of all, when I didn’t realize AIM allowed you to receive offline messages, and would spend my waking hours sending love poems to aforementioned crush, only to later realize that he had been receiving them? HUGE, HONKIN’, MOVE ME TO TIMBUKTU MISTAKE.

die

Then, there’s also the fact that I didn’t discover the glory of Indian food until my senior year of high school.

Now, Indian food is the BOMB. Spicy, creamy, flavorful, often vegetarian/vegan friendly (ooooohhh), and served with delicious garlicy buttery naan? What’s not to love!

Hence, when my friend Ami took me to my first Indian lunch buffet (Jaipur in Fairfax, VA, whatupppp!), it was love at first bite. We made it a weekly tradition to visit Jaipur or Haandi (dangerously close to our high school) and get our fill of buffet goodness. We justified eating 5 plates of food by walking there and back. Balance?

balance

My love for Indian food has only grown since then, mostly thanks to a) Milan, the BOMB ASS Indian place near UVA grounds in Charlottesville, and b) Uber Eats, which allows me to get any food I want within the span of two episodes of New Girl. Umm, yeah. Down.

Unfortunately I am not made of money, even though sometimes I drink like I am. As such, I decided to venture out and try making my own Indian food. And I must say, this first attempt was a roaring success!

money

This meal only takes 30 minutes start to finish, so get started now, and you’ll have a healthy and delicious lunch ready before you know it. Uber Eats be damned!*

*JK ily Uber Eats never leave me #notsponsored #butiwishiwas

Spicy Chickpea Coconut Curry

curry1

To make this dish, you will need:
– 1 T olive oil
– 1 cup vegetable broth
– 28 oz diced tomatoes, with juice
– 1 can chickpeas, drained
– 3/4 cup light coconut milk
– 2 jalapeno peppers, cored and diced
– 1 yellow onion, minced
– 2 T fresh ginger, minced
– 4 cloves garlic, minced
– 1 t garam masala
– 1 t curry powder
– 1 t cumin
– 1/2 t paprika
– 1/2 t turmeric
– Salt, to taste

Let’s begin! First, prep your veggies – dice up your onion, ginger, garlic, and jalapenos. Make sure you don’t get hot jalapeno juice all up in your eyes* – ouchie.

*I did this once on a second date. There was not a third. But that’s okay, because he was kind of an asshole.

curry8

Heat a large saucepan over medium-high heat. Add olive oil, then diced onion and a few shakes of salt. Saute for 3 minutes.

curry7

Next up, add your spices! Saute another minute or two. Music is good to have on for this part. Maybe some spicy Latin jams?

Add in your jalapenos, ginger, and garlic, and saute for another 2-3 minutes, until everything starts to become nice and soft, like in the photo below.

curry9

Add your vegetable broth and tomatoes, then stir to combine. Bring this mixture to a boil, then allow to cook for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

curry10

We’re almost done! Add the drained chickpeas and coconut milk, then cook until warmed through completely. You’re all set! It was that easy.

curry11

Serve with a nice sprig of fresh cilantro, some crackers or naan, and preferably some fuzzy socks. Those make everything better.

Here’s to a winter full of healthy comfort foods! And tequila!

XOXO,
Jesse

Leave a Reply

