Vegan Lentil Tomato Sauce + Zoodles

on

Kick up your tomato sauce with protein from lentils and antioxidants from carrots, onion, and garlic! This homemade version of a ‘bolognese’ sauce is 100% vegan, absolutely delicious, and perfect atop zucchini noodles or pasta of your choice.

pasta1

GUYS. VEGANISM IS AWESOME.

I don’t miss cheese as much as I thought I would, my skin is SO clear, I can still drink all the beer, wine, and tequila I ever wanted (aka all of it), and I’m cooking SO much more. Mostly because I can’t just stop by Chick-fil-a on the way home from the metro like I used to, which is both a blessing (my pants fit!) and a curse (dat SAUCE though).

Well, ya know what? I can make my own baller meals that don’t have trans fats and cost $10 and threaten to clog all of my arteries. I need those to be open, guys. Also, CHICKEN LIVES MATTER. Someone had to say it.

So, I made this ~baller~ bolognese on a rainy Tuesday, and it was awesome. If you don’t make it, re-evaluate your life choices. Drink more tequila. Be a better human. Etc.

Vegan Lentil Tomato Sauce + Zoodles

pasta9

To make this sauce, you will need:
– 1 6 oz can tomato paste
– 1 29 oz can diced tomatoes
– 2 cups vegetable broth
– 2 cups dry green lentils
– 1 T olive oil
– 4 cloves garlic
– 1 yellow onion
– 150g carrots, grated (about 2 carrots – couldn’t find whole ones at the CoHi Giant, so I used baby carrots)
– 3/4 cup red wine (I used a full-bodied Shiraz)
– 1 bunch fresh basil
– salt, pepper, and Italian seasoning to taste

To start, mince your onion. Heat olive oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat, then add onion. Saute until golden brown, about 3 minutes.

pasta5

Add garlic and grated carrots, cook 2 minutes. Add tomato paste, cook 5 minutes.

pasta4

Pour in the wine to deglaze the pan (read – let the acid get all the burnt bits off the bottom as the alcohol burns off), and then add your lentils. Stir and cook for 3 minutes.

pasta3

Now, the big one – add the diced tomatoes, veggie broth, basil, and seasonings to taste. Remember: you can always add more seasoning, but you can’t magically extract them. Think about it. Turn the heat down and let the sauce simmer for 25-30 minutes, until lentils are your desired consistency.

pasta7

Just LOOK at that basil. So fresh and so green, green. Anyway, moving on.

pasta2

You can use any sauce vessel of your choice, but I chose to go with the humble zucchini noodle (aka zoodle). Because veggies are our friends! I spiralized half of a zucchini for one lunch serving.

pasta1

Once your sauce reaches your desired consistency, take it off the heat and ladle a generous helping onto your zoodles. Top it with cheese or an extravagant basil leaf (#dairyfreeprobz) and dig in! Your body will thank you.

Also, FYI, this recipe makes a butt-ton of sauce, so if anyone wants any PLEASE come to my house. I’m begging you.

XOXO,
Jesse

One Comment Add yours

  1. theurbenlife says:

    Yum, this looks amazing! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

