Thai Green Curry with Eggplant and Tofu

Eggplant, tofu, and peppers provide bulk to this spicy vegan curry. Made creamy by coconut milk and hot by a variety of spices, this is a quick and easy lunch or dinner made in the crockpot.

curry2

Hey guys! Are you hungover?! I’m hungover.

curry1
Blurry, just like my memories.

Saturday night was my company’s holiday party, and I prepared super poorly – I ate a handful of veggie chips and hummus for my only meal of the day, had two beers on a date, drank MUCHO tequila and vino at the pregame I hosted, and then drank (ans spilled) even MORE wine at the party. My poor date practically had to carry me to the cab at the end of the night. So needless to say, I was hurting yesterday.

hangover

When I worked at Paradox Pastry back in college, I would often have to go into work pretty early – we’re talking 6:30 AM early – on Friday and Saturday mornings. Now, this would be fine if I had any kind of self-restraint whatsoever – but I don’t. So I would drag my hungover ass into work at the buttcrack of dawn, show up, and make a headfirst dive for my proven hangover cure – soup. At Paradox, this was typically either our Carrot-Apple-Ginger soup or Spinach-Potato; in DC, it has tended to be Ramen.

Then, I became vegan. My beloved chicken-flavored Ramen was off-limits. I was lost.

So, I developed this Thai Green Curry! Spicy, hot, brothy, and free of meat and dairy, it was everything I needed to kick this nasty hangover.

Thai Green Curry with Eggplant and Tofu

curry3

To make this curry, you will need:
– 16 oz extra-firm tofu, pressed
– 1 can (14 oz) lite coconut milk
– 1 cup vegetable broth
– 5 T Thai green curry paste
– 1 eggplant
– 1 small yellow onion
– 1 bag frozen peppers
– 1.5 t turmeric
– 1 t cayenne
– 2 t salt
– 2 t pepper
– 1 t raw sugar
– 1/2 T ginger, minced

curry4
Tofu pressing in a house of female consultants

First up, you need to press your tofu! Drain the liquid from the tofu, sandwich it in a thick kitchen towel, and use whatever heavy things you have on hand (in my house of UVA and UNC grads, that is BOOKS) to add pressure. Let it press while you prepare the rest of the curry.

curry5

Into the slow cooker, add the veggie broth, coconut milk, green curry paste, ginger, and spices. Stir well. Add frozen bell pepper strips.

Dice your eggplant and add to the slow cooker.

Dice your onion and add to the slow cooker. Stir to combine and cook on high for 4 hours.

When your slow cooker is just about done, cube your tofu and saute until golden brown. Add to the slow cooker and allow to finish cooking. Once the timer goes off, voila! You’ve got curry!

curry2

Guys, this stuff was so good that I had it for breakfast, lunch, AND dinner the day after I made it. That’s no joke. And slowly but surely my holiday party hangover will subside – hopefully in time for the next one this Friday!

XOXO,
Jesse

Leave a Reply

