Spicy Barbecue Lentils

on

Protein-packed green lentils get a kick from cayenne, barbecue sauce, and pepper. Shredded carrots and onion add veggie power and nutrients. A great part of a vegan lunch or dinner!

Ok guys so I’m trying to be vegan for a month and it’s hard. Because – CHEESE.

That’s literally the hardest part. Cheese. Well, that and explaining to my friends that I’m being vegan for a month. Case in point, this real conversation I had with my friend Amanda yesterday.
A – Come get tacos with me!
J – Ok!
A – Wait lol jk you can’t have tacos you’re doing that stupid vegan thing.
J – I can have the Spicy Shroom!
A – Gross.
J – I can have chips and guac!
A – Not tacos.
J – I can still drink!
A – I can’t be your friend if you’re vegan. I’m from Texas. It’s against my religion.

Fair enough, Amanda. But I’m like, the funnest hippest yoga-loving vegan chick around! I can still put back 5 beers on a Tuesday night!* And hopefully my skin will clear up for once in my life and I’ll stop buying enough concealer to keep CVS in business! Wouldn’t that be nice?!

happy-for-me

*A real thing I did this past Tuesday, on a date with a lovely British boy.

So, I made this bomb barbecue lentil dish to keep in my fridge in case the munchies hit me in a weak moment (read: post-5-beers) and I need something to keep me from calling Uber Eats and buying ALLOFTHEPIZZA.

pizza

Eat them on a bun! Eat them straight! Eat them with chips! Whatever you do, eat them. They’re packed with protein, fiber, and SPICE – what could be better?!

Spicy Barbecue Lentils

To make these lentils, you will need:
– 1 cup uncooked green lentils
– 2 cups water
– 1.5 cups carrots, grated
– 3/4 cup barbecue sauce (I used bourbon barbecue sauce because alcohol duh)
– 1 T olive oil
– 1/2 yellow onion
– 1.5 t garlic powder
– 1/2 t salt
– 1/2 t black pepper
– 1.5 t cayenne pepper
– 1 t raw (turbinado) sugar

First! Combine your water and lentils in a pot, and bring to a boil over medium-high heat. Once the water comes to a boil, turn the temperature down to low and let simmer for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Next, use a food processor to shred the carrots. Set aside.

Try not to cry as you chop half your onion. Set the other half aside for a rainy day.

Heat a large pan over medium heat and add 1 T olive oil. Let the oil get hot (about 30 seconds) and then add the minced onion, salt, and pepper. Sauté until fragrant, as you prep your other ingredients.

img_0491

Spices and sauce and sugar, oh my! (<– name that movie)

img_0494

Once the lentils have finished cooking, add them to the onion along with the carrots, spice, and sauce. Stir it all together, turn the heat down to medium-low, and let thicken for 7 minutes, stirring occasionally.

img_0495

Add the mixture back to the food processor and pulse a few times to eliminate any large chunks (my onion chopping skills may need some work…). Then, serve however you please!

I’m eating these for literally every meal until I run out. Sorry, not sorry. They’re THAT good.

XOXO,
Jesse

2 Comments Add yours

  1. threebrits says:

    This looks amazing! we are loving all the colours! 🙂

    Like

    1. Jesse says:

      Thank you! Gotta love eating the rainbow 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

