Cocoa-Almond S’mores Bars

A buttery graham cracker cookie crust sandwiches marshmallow fluff and cocoa-almond spread, a good substitute for Nutella if you’re as much a servant to Trader Joe’s as I am. A sprinkling of melty chocolate chunks on top adds sweetness to every bite. All the fun of s’mores, without the campfire!

smore1

Hey homies. Guess who I just celebrated my one year anniversary with?

…if your guess was “your boyfriend” then HAHAHAHA you’re extremely mistaken. I don’t taco bout feelings.

tacos
I didn’t know how much I needed this shirt until now.

My job! My first real live big girl job!

That’s right. One year ago I begrudgingly put on something other than yoga pants, donned a pair of heels so that I could intimidate all the other newbies with my Amazonian stature, tried to smile for my badge picture and ended up looking creepy AF, and began my corporate journey.

work

Naturally, we celebrated our one year anniversary by getting blackout on a boat.

Well, more specifically, I started my journey to blackout boat time by drinking wine, watching stand-up, and baking these s’mores bars for a friend*’s barbecue that afternoon!

boat

*Random frat douche I know from UVA

These. Were. SO GOOD. They were demolished within seconds of my arrival to the barbecue. I was glad I had snuck a square in the Uber over, because I spent the entirety of this party talking to fuckboys and chugging my wine juice box. Priorities. Make them make them make them!!!

Cocoa-Almond S’mores Bars

smore6

To make these bars, you will need:
– 1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs (about 1.5 sleeves of graham crackers, either crushed by hand or in the food processor)
– 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
– 1/2 t baking soda
– Pinch salt
– 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
– 1 cup brown sugar
– 1 1/2 t vanilla extract
– 1 egg
– 1/2 cup cocoa-almond spread (or nutella, or similar chocolate-based goodness)
– 1/2 cup marshmallow fluff

First up! Open a bottle of wine. Pour a glass. Take a sip. Just trying to recreate the true experience of making these for ya 😉

…ok, now preheat your oven to 350F and spray an 8×8 pan with cooking spray. Set that guy aside. In a small bowl, whisk together your graham cracker crumbsflourbaking soda, and salt. Set that aside too.

In a large bowl, cream together your butter and brown sugar until light and fluffy. Mix in the egg and vanilla until thoroughly combined.

Next, gently stir your dry mix into the butter mixture. Juuuust until combined.

smore5

Now! The fun part!! Using your hands (it’s like kindergarten but with wine), press about half of the dough into the bottom of your greased pan. It doesn’t have to be perfect, but it should be relatively even.

smore4

Spread your cocoa almond spread/nutella/what have you on top of the bottom layer…

smore3

Spread the fluff on top of that, and then use your hands once again (YAY!) to press the remaining dough on top of all this goodness. This definitely doesn’t need to be even – some cracks in the top just allow for gooeyness to poke through!

smore2

Top this with a sprinkling of chocolate chunks if you wish, and then pop in the oven for 20-25 minutes. It should be golden brown around the edges, like so:

smore1

Then, dig in! Or share with your friends/random fuckboys. Then, buy (and finish) a personal bottle of champagne on a boat.* YOLO, amirite?!

*Somewhere, my mom is crying softly into the night over my lost innocence

mom

XOXO,
Jesse

Leave a Reply

