Spiced Zucchini-Banana Bread

This sweet, moist bread is packed with summer zucchini and mashed banana. The moisture from the fruit eliminates the need for any butter, lightening up this bread. Cinnamon and nutmeg add a kick of spice, which can transition this quick bread easily from summer to fall!

IMG_3066

Hi! Hello! Happy new week to you!

(Also happy national tequila day, but I am writing this post at 9:00 AM and have not yet begun those festivities)

I have exciting news! My best friend is getting married in SIX DAYS! Which is weird, because when we first became friends 10 years ago, I’m certain that we were both way too weird to ever land a man. Also, 90% of my relationships are still just figuring out where to eat. But, Ami has overcome the odds and secured a very wonderful fiancé and a very wonderful job (at Google!! Who is she?!) and I’m sure her wedding will be just as wonderful. Say wonderful again.

say crack

And I’m also very excited, because this means I get to be a Maid of Honor in less than a week! However, there is a conundrum. I just spent a week in Canada eating ALL OF THE POUTINE and drinking ALL OF THE WHISKEY (don’t wanna talk about it) and now I feel like a beached whale. A beached whale who isn’t ready for her bridesmaid dress.

IMG_1662
Bachelorette Party festivities

Thus, I’m in detox mode. For example, I stayed in both Friday and Saturday night* (literally unheard of for me) and am currently choking down some sort of green sludge that can best be described as a cross between chalky soap and swamp water** between yoga class and heading to the gym. Shit’s gotten real, y’all.

*Fret not, I will still be celebrating National Tequila Day this afternoon!
**Do NOT buy Whole Foods Vanilla Chai protein powder, as it is actually made of sludge and sadness

kale

Thus, when deciding what to bake yesterday (because you can’t ask me not to bake, even for a week – ridiculousness), I wanted to take a healthier route than usual. I stopped by the 14th St Farmer’s Market on my way home from seeing my new house (!!!), and emerged with nine tonnes of zucchini. Because, if I put vegetables in something, it is clearly a salad! Logic.

This zucchini-banana bread has no butter, but still has all of the flavor, because I am a magician. I added walnuts to mine (Omega-3s, baby!!), but feel free to add whatever suits your fancy, or just leave it plain! Chocolate chips would probably be a great addition, but I think I would need to balance that out with even more sludge and I’m not sure that’s a sacrifice my tastebuds are willing to make.

Spiced Zucchini Banana Bread

IMG_3067

To make this bread, you will need:
– 1 medium zucchini, peeled, grated, and drained
– 1 large, overripe banana
– 1 1/4 cup all purpose flour
– 1 t baking soda
– 1/4 t cinnamon
– 1/8 t nutmeg
– Pinch salt
– 1/2 cup vegetable oil
– 1 cup sugar
– 2 eggs
– 1 t vanilla extract
– 3/4 cup walnuts (or other mix-in, or omit entirely!

IMG_3070

To begin, preheat your oven to 350F. In a medium bowl, combine your dry ingredients (flour, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt) with a whisk. Set aside.

IMG_3069

To prepare your zucchini, you will first chop off the top and bottom portions and peel off that dark green skin. Grate the zucchini using a cheese grater, then press the shreds between two layers of paper towels to extract the moisture. In a separate bowl, mash the banana and set aside.

In a large bowl, combine the sugaroil, and eggs. Whisk these together vigorously (great tricep workout!) until your mixture is light and creamy. Stir in the banana and vanilla extract.

Fold the dry mixture into the wet until just combined, then add the zucchini and whatever mix-in you may be using. Pour the batter into a greased 9×5 loaf pan, stick it in the oven, and let it bake for 45-50 minutes. The bread should be golden brown, and a toothpick inserted in the center should come out clean.

IMG_3050

Wait about 20 minutes, then pop the loaf out of the pan and enjoy!

IMG_3064

Mmm, tastes like health. That means I can eat the whole thing, right? (Kidding) (Probably) (This is why I need adult supervision)

XOXO,
Jesse

One Comment Add yours

  1. This looks delish…and that Mean Girls GIF 🙌🏼👏🏼

    Like

Leave a Reply

