Cookies ‘n Creme Oreo Cookies

An Oreo cookie inside a cookie? It’s cookie-ception, in the most delicious of ways! Classic oreos add creaminess and chocolate crunch to a standard brown sugar cookie base. Sure to be a hit with any crowd!

Hello everyone! I’m BACK at my old stomping grounds!

That’s right, I’m currently in Charlottesville for Foxfield weekend! Also known as a weekend of drinking, ‘seeing horses,’ debauchery, blacking out on mimosas at 10 AM, and so much more.

ff2
JP is a giant, Foxfield edition.

And, it wouldn’t be a visit to Charlottesville without baking something for my friends/pledge babies/former employer! They expect this of me, just as they expect me to be the first to be murdered by a Tinder date (…tryna prove them wrong on this one), and the last to leave any party. I just love parties! I hate to see them end!

Struggling to choose what to bake, I did what I do best: paced up and down the aisles of my favorite Giant, searching for inspiration. I found little solace in the meat aisle, was tormented by the lack of material in the pasta sauce aisle, and almost gave up. ALMOST. But I ain’t no quitter, y’all.*

*Cville brings out my Southern side.

jessie
Jesse does… Jessie?

It was in the cookie aisle (NO WAY) that I found my muse. The Oreo selection was, as always, robust – but the filled-cupcake Oreos were on sale for 99 cents! a) apparently not doing so well, but b) I don’t care, cheap AF!!! I snagged them from the shelf and ran to the self-checkout, giggling maniacally the whole way, brainstorming ways to infuse them into a dessert.

IMG_0421

That dessert ended up being Cookies ‘n Creme Oreo Cookies! I got home, rounded up my ingredients, completely ignored my packing list and empty suitcase, and got to work.

I began by preheating my oven to 350F, because you don’t have to chill this dough – ain’t nobody (who doesn’t plan ahead/pack in advance/have patience) got time for that. I also lined two baking sheets with Amazon’s version of Silpat, which is just okay and if you order it should DEFINITELY be sprayed with Pam before each use.

I whisked together 1 1/4 cups All Purpose Flour1/2 t baking soda, and a pinch of salt in a small bowl, and set those aside.

In a large bowl, I combined 1 stick (softened, unsalted) butter, 3/8 c granulated sugar, and 3/8 c light brown sugar. Once those were creamed, I added 1 egg and 1 t vanilla. 

Add the dry ingredients to the wet, and then – the fun part – crush 11 Oreos into pieces. You can use a rolling pin and a large Ziploc bag, but I decided it would be more fun to take the ‘use your fingers’ route. What can I say – I’m four years old.

IMG_0426

Add the Oreo pieces and 1 cup chocolate chips (I used milk, because that’s what I had on hand, but I would recommend semi-sweet) to the batter, and fold in until just combined. Drop the cookie dough onto your baking sheets in 2T scoops, and bake for 9-10 min, until golden brown.

IMG_0425

Voila! These things are fuckin’ amazing, even more so when fresh out of the oven paired with a glass of milk.

IMG_0422

I sent this picture to my fraternity’s GroupMe and it got 20 likes soooo these cookies are kind of a big deal! And, I mean, I guess I am too… how could you say no to this sober, beautiful face?!

ff3

XOXO,
Jesse

Leave a Reply

